Google Expands Indoor Maps Selection

Google is launching indoor maps for Android devices in the U.K., to enable smartphone users to easily find their way around train stations, sporting venues, art galleries, shopping centres and department stores.

More than 40 venues in the UK have so far submitted their indoor floor plans to appear in the Googlemapping system. Google said any building owner can now upload their maps for future inclusion in Google Maps.

To use the system, Android smartphone users open Google Maps on their device, zoom in to the location they’re in, and the indoor floor plan will automatically appear. The indoor maps function of the softwarelaunched last fall with a selection of U.S. venues.

Users will also see where they are in the building via a blue dot on the map — if they have enabled the My Location feature on their phones. Kings Cross station, the Barbican Centre, and the Peter Jones department store in Sloane Square are among the indoor locations currently supported, said Google.

Razia Ahamed, Google geo indoor partnerships lead, said: “You’ll no longer need to feel clueless when you’re at the railway station, trying to figure out where to buy a coffee before you rush to catch your train.

“Nor will you feel embarrassed about asking for the lingerie section when you’re in the department store, because you’ll have all the answers in the palm of your hand.”

Last month Google launched a location-based tool that combines its mapping technology and Android smartphones to deploy offsite staff effectively depending on their locations.

Using the new Google Maps Coordinate app, Google said call centre employees at a company could quickly send staff to a trouble spot or where service is required quickly, by finding out which of its employees are closest to the problem site.

source:pcworld

12 comments on “Google Expands Indoor Maps Selection

  1. Hi there, just changed into aware of your weblog through Google, and located that it is truly informative. I am gonna be careful for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. Many folks shall be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  2. It’s really a nice and useful piece of info. I am satisfied that you simply shared this helpful information with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  3. That is really attention-grabbing, You’re an excessively skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to in quest of more of your fantastic post. Additionally, I’ve shared your site in my social networks

  4. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact loved account your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access constantly fast.

  5. Great post. I used to be checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Very useful info particularly the remaining phase 🙂 I take care of such information much. I used to be looking for this certain info for a long time. Thanks and best of luck.

  6. A person necessarily lend a hand to make significantly articles I would state. This is the first time I frequented your web page and up to now? I amazed with the analysis you made to create this particular submit amazing. Excellent task!

  7. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I in finding It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to provide something back and help others like you helped me.

Leave a Reply

